Slovenia is a small country but its position at one of European geographical, cultural and historical crossroads has endowed with a rich variety of sights and attractions easily accessible from the throbbing capital Ljubljana.

From fabled Bled in the north to second most prominent city of Maribor in the east and the colourful Piran on the Adriatic coast in the west, the country is packed with sights and activities to every taste.

The three UNESCO World Heritage sites: the Skocjan Caves and the Idrija mercury mine, as well as the prehistoric pile dwellings in the area of Ljubljansko barje; the Triglav National park and hundreds of protected natural areas welcome all visitors eager to explore the country’s natural beauties. The Celts, Romans, Huns, as well as Germanic and Slavic tribes, all left their traces in the long history of the country.


The plug of choice is 220 Volts, AC, 50 Hz, two-pin socket supply.


Slovenia officially joined the Eurozone in 2007. Euro coins come in denominations of 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, 1 and 2 euros, while banknotes come in 5, 10, 20, 50, 100, 200 and 500 euros. The Slovene-designed euro coins are decorated with among other things storks, Mount Triglav, Lippizaner horses, a man sowing stars and a Joze Plecnik design.

Credit cards

MasterCard and Visa are widely accepted, Diner’s Club and American Express cards can be utilized, too.


The country is predominantly populated by Roman Catholics.


Ljubljana is one of the safest capitals in the world, but the best advice may be to employ your common sense.


Cigarettes can't be purchased by those under 18. Like most EU member states, Slovenia has banned smoking from public indoor spaces.


Visas are not required by visitors from the following countries for visit up to 90 days: Albania, Andorra, Antigua & Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Natherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, St Kitts and Nevis, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City.

National holidays

January 1  New Year’s Day
February 8 Preseren Day
---  Easter Sunday and Monday
April 27 Day of Uprising against Occupation
May 1 – 2 International Worker’s Day
June 8 Primoz Trubar Day
June 25 Statehood Day
August 15 Assumption Day
October 31 Reformation Day
November 1 All Saints' Day
December 25 Christmas Day
December 26 Independence and Unity Day